Massachusetts School and District Profiles


Districts Schools
Select an Org
print page show video

2017 Official Accountability Data - Shrewsbury

District Information
District:Shrewsbury (02710000)
Title I Status:Yes
Accountability Information
Accountability and Assistance Level

No level

Students in grades 3-8 participated in 2017 Next Generation MCAS tests
This district’s determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention
Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR)
2017 Assessment Participation
Student Group English Language Arts Mathematics Science
EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target
All Students 3,369 3,366100Yes 3,367 3,356100Yes 1,427 1,421100Yes
High needs 934 934100Yes 932 92799Yes 374 37099Yes
Econ. Disadvantaged 407 407100Yes 406 405100Yes 157 15699Yes
EL and Former EL 241 241100Yes 240 239100Yes 85 85100Yes
Students w/ disabilities 490 490100Yes 489 48599Yes 202 19898Yes
Amer. Ind. or Alaska Nat. 6--- 6--- 3---
Asian 927 927100Yes 925 923100Yes 368 36699Yes
Afr. Amer./Black 72 72100Yes 71 71100Yes 38 38100Yes
Hispanic/Latino 277 277100Yes 277 277100Yes 98 98100Yes
Multi-race, Non-Hisp./Lat. 110 10898Yes 110 10999Yes 43 43100Yes
Nat. Haw. or Pacif. Isl. 1--- 1--- 1---
White 1,976 1,975100Yes 1,977 1,969100Yes 876 872100Yes

NOTE: In 2017, assessment participation was calculated two ways: First, the 2017 participation rate for each subgroup in each subject area test was calculated. If the actual 2017 participation rate was lower than 95 percent (high schools) or 90 percent (schools and districts administering Next-Generation MCAS test in grades 3-8) for any group in any subject, that rate was compared to the average of the most recent two years of assessment participation data for that group and subject. The higher of the two resulting rates was factored into the assignment of the school or district's 2017 accountability and assistance level.

School Accountability Information
School School Type Title I Status Accountability and Assistance Level
Calvin CoolidgeElementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)No level
Floral Street SchoolElementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)No level
Walter J PatonElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Spring StreetElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Sherwood Middle SchoolElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Oak Middle SchoolMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Shrewsbury Sr HighHigh SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Level 2
Beal SchoolEarly Elementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)Insufficient data
Parker Road PreschoolEarly Elementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Insufficient data

About this Report

Accountability and Assistance Levels: All Massachusetts schools and districts with sufficient data are classified into one of five accountability and assistance levels (1-5), with the highest performing in Level 1 and lowest performing in Level 5. In general, a district is classified into the level of its lowest performing school, unless the district was independently classified into Level 4 or 5 as a result of action by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. Schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in 2017 have not been placed into Levels 1-3 on the basis of their assessment results, but may have been assigned an accountability an assistance level (3-5) for other reasons, as noted on this report.

School Percentiles: A school percentile between 1 and 99 is reported for schools with at least four years of data. This number is an indication of the school's overall performance relative to other schools that serve the same or similar grades. School percentiles were not calculated for schools that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention: The U.S. Department of Education requires Massachusetts to determine which districts (including single school districts) have specific needs for technical assistance or intervention in the area of special education. A district’s determination is based on five categories: Meets Requirements (MR); Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR); Needs Technical Assistance (NTA); Needs Intervention (NI); and Needs Substantial Intervention (NSI). In most cases these categories correspond to the district's accountability and assistance level, except when the district has specific compliance needs. This designation helps signal whether outcomes for all students in the district indicate progress, including that of students with disabilities, or whether technical assistance and/or intervention is needed to improve outcomes for all children, especially students with disabilities. Upon classification of a district into Level 3, two additional focus areas for special education will be reviewed at the district level and may require action: (A) over-identification of low-income students as eligible for special education and (B) inordinate separation of students with disabilities across low income and/or racial groups.

Cumulative Progress and Performance Index (PPI): The cumulative PPI combines information about narrowing proficiency gaps, growth, and graduation and dropout rates over four years into a single number between 0 and 100. For a group to be considered to be making progress toward narrowing proficiency gaps, its cumulative PPI must be 75 or higher. Annual and cumulative PPIs were not calculated for schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Interpretive Materials
Glossary of 2017 Accountability Terms

School and District Profiles