Massachusetts School and District Profiles


Districts Schools
Select an Org
print page show video

2017 Official Accountability Data - Newton

District Information
District:Newton (02070000)
Region:Greater Boston
Title I Status:Yes
Accountability Information
Accountability and Assistance Level

No level

Students in grades 3-8 participated in 2017 Next Generation MCAS tests
This district’s determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention
Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR)
2017 Assessment Participation
Student Group English Language Arts Mathematics Science
EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target
All Students 6,841 6,77499Yes 6,842 6,78499Yes 2,894 2,86799Yes
High needs 2,370 2,32798Yes 2,370 2,33699Yes 1,014 99999Yes
Econ. Disadvantaged 741 72898Yes 741 73199Yes 333 32898Yes
EL and Former EL 736 73099Yes 737 735100Yes 248 248100Yes
Students w/ disabilities 1,442 1,40898Yes 1,441 1,41098Yes 655 64298Yes
Amer. Ind. or Alaska Nat. 16--- 16--- 9---
Asian 1,250 1,247100Yes 1,250 1,247100Yes 513 51099Yes
Afr. Amer./Black 333 32999Yes 333 32999Yes 150 14999Yes
Hispanic/Latino 503 49699Yes 503 49899Yes 215 214100Yes
Multi-race, Non-Hisp./Lat. 395 39099Yes 395 39299Yes 142 13998Yes
Nat. Haw. or Pacif. Isl. 2--- 2--- 2---
White 4,342 4,29799Yes 4,343 4,30199Yes 1,863 1,84599Yes

NOTE: In 2017, assessment participation was calculated two ways: First, the 2017 participation rate for each subgroup in each subject area test was calculated. If the actual 2017 participation rate was lower than 95 percent (high schools) or 90 percent (schools and districts administering Next-Generation MCAS test in grades 3-8) for any group in any subject, that rate was compared to the average of the most recent two years of assessment participation data for that group and subject. The higher of the two resulting rates was factored into the assignment of the school or district's 2017 accountability and assistance level.

School Accountability Information
School School Type Title I Status Accountability and Assistance Level
A E AngierElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
BowenElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
C C BurrElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
CabotElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
CountrysideElementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)No level
FranklinElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Lincoln-EliotElementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)No level
Horace MannElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Mason-RiceElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
PeirceElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Memorial SpauldingElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
UnderwoodElementary SchoolTitle I School (TA)No level
John WardElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
WilliamsElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
ZervasElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Bigelow MiddleMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Charles E Brown MiddleMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
F A Day MiddleMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Oak Hill MiddleMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Newton North HighHigh SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Level 1
Newton South HighHigh SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Level 1
Newton Early Childhood CenterEarly Elementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Insufficient data

About this Report

Accountability and Assistance Levels: All Massachusetts schools and districts with sufficient data are classified into one of five accountability and assistance levels (1-5), with the highest performing in Level 1 and lowest performing in Level 5. In general, a district is classified into the level of its lowest performing school, unless the district was independently classified into Level 4 or 5 as a result of action by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. Schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in 2017 have not been placed into Levels 1-3 on the basis of their assessment results, but may have been assigned an accountability an assistance level (3-5) for other reasons, as noted on this report.

School Percentiles: A school percentile between 1 and 99 is reported for schools with at least four years of data. This number is an indication of the school's overall performance relative to other schools that serve the same or similar grades. School percentiles were not calculated for schools that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention: The U.S. Department of Education requires Massachusetts to determine which districts (including single school districts) have specific needs for technical assistance or intervention in the area of special education. A district’s determination is based on five categories: Meets Requirements (MR); Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR); Needs Technical Assistance (NTA); Needs Intervention (NI); and Needs Substantial Intervention (NSI). In most cases these categories correspond to the district's accountability and assistance level, except when the district has specific compliance needs. This designation helps signal whether outcomes for all students in the district indicate progress, including that of students with disabilities, or whether technical assistance and/or intervention is needed to improve outcomes for all children, especially students with disabilities. Upon classification of a district into Level 3, two additional focus areas for special education will be reviewed at the district level and may require action: (A) over-identification of low-income students as eligible for special education and (B) inordinate separation of students with disabilities across low income and/or racial groups.

Cumulative Progress and Performance Index (PPI): The cumulative PPI combines information about narrowing proficiency gaps, growth, and graduation and dropout rates over four years into a single number between 0 and 100. For a group to be considered to be making progress toward narrowing proficiency gaps, its cumulative PPI must be 75 or higher. Annual and cumulative PPIs were not calculated for schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Interpretive Materials
Glossary of 2017 Accountability Terms

School and District Profiles