Massachusetts School and District Profiles


Districts Schools
Select an Org
print page show video

2017 Official Accountability Data - Stoughton

District Information
District:Stoughton (02850000)
Title I Status:Yes
Accountability Information
Accountability and Assistance Level

No level

Students in grades 3-8 participated in 2017 Next Generation MCAS tests
This district’s determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention
Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR)
2017 Assessment Participation
Student Group English Language Arts Mathematics Science
EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target EnrolledAssessed%Met Target
All Students 1,965 1,94999Yes 1,967 1,95799Yes 917 91299Yes
High needs 877 86398Yes 877 86899Yes 388 38599Yes
Econ. Disadvantaged 619 60898Yes 619 61299Yes 278 27599Yes
ELL and Former ELL 185 17896Yes 185 18499Yes 61 61100Yes
Students w/disabilities 319 31699Yes 319 31599Yes 153 15199Yes
Amer. Ind. or Alaska Nat. 2--- 2--- 1---
Asian 123 12299Yes 123 123100Yes 56 56100Yes
Afr. Amer./Black 415 41199Yes 414 412100Yes 212 211100Yes
Hispanic/Latino 180 17597Yes 181 18099Yes 73 73100Yes
Multi-race, Non-Hisp./Lat. 81 81100Yes 81 81100Yes 22 22100Yes
Nat. Haw. or Pacif. Isl. 9--- 9--- 3---
White 1,155 1,14999Yes 1,156 1,14999Yes 550 54699Yes

NOTE: In 2017, assessment participation was calculated two ways: First, the 2017 participation rate for each subgroup in each subject area test was calculated. If the actual 2017 participation rate was lower than 95 percent (high schools) or 90 percent (schools and districts administering Next-Generation MCAS test in grades 3-8) for any group in any subject, that rate was compared to the average of the most recent two years of assessment participation data for that group and subject. The higher of the two resulting rates was factored into the assignment of the school or district's 2017 accountability and assistance level.

School Accountability Information
School School Type Title I Status Accountability and Assistance Level
Helen Hansen ElementaryElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Joseph R Dawe Jr ElementaryElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
South ElementaryElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
West ElementaryElementary SchoolTitle I School (SW)No level
Joseph H GibbonsElementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
O'Donnell Middle SchoolMiddle SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)No level
Stoughton HighHigh SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Level 2
Edwin A Jones Early Childhood CenterEarly Elementary SchoolNon-Title I School (NT)Insufficient data

About this Report

Accountability and Assistance Levels: All Massachusetts schools and districts with sufficient data are classified into one of five accountability and assistance levels (1-5), with the highest performing in Level 1 and lowest performing in Level 5. In general, a district is classified into the level of its lowest performing school, unless the district was independently classified into Level 4 or 5 as a result of action by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. Schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in 2017 have not been placed into Levels 1-3 on the basis of their assessment results, but may have been assigned an accountability an assistance level (3-5) for other reasons, as noted on this report.

School Percentiles: A school percentile between 1 and 99 is reported for schools with at least four years of data. This number is an indication of the school's overall performance relative to other schools that serve the same or similar grades. School percentiles were not calculated for schools that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Determination of need for special education technical assistance or intervention: The U.S. Department of Education requires Massachusetts to determine which districts (including single school districts) have specific needs for technical assistance or intervention in the area of special education. A district’s determination is based on five categories: Meets Requirements (MR); Meets Requirements-At Risk (MRAR); Needs Technical Assistance (NTA); Needs Intervention (NI); and Needs Substantial Intervention (NSI). In most cases these categories correspond to the district's accountability and assistance level, except when the district has specific compliance needs. This designation helps signal whether outcomes for all students in the district indicate progress, including that of students with disabilities, or whether technical assistance and/or intervention is needed to improve outcomes for all children, especially students with disabilities. Upon classification of a district into Level 3, two additional focus areas for special education will be reviewed at the district level and may require action: (A) over-identification of low-income students as eligible for special education and (B) inordinate separation of students with disabilities across low income and/or racial groups.

Cumulative Progress and Performance Index (PPI): The cumulative PPI combines information about narrowing proficiency gaps, growth, and graduation and dropout rates over four years into a single number between 0 and 100. For a group to be considered to be making progress toward narrowing proficiency gaps, its cumulative PPI must be 75 or higher. Annual and cumulative PPIs were not calculated for schools and districts that administered the Next Generation MCAS assessment in grades 3-8 in spring 2017.

Interpretive Materials
Glossary of 2017 Accountability Terms